Happiness Is Being Under Water!

Today, I swam laps at the pool after too long a time avoiding the gym.  It felt wonderful to feel my body suspended weightless in the water with nothing to think about but the cadence of my strokes, kicks, and breaths.  Despite any aches and pains, this is one activity that I always know will make me feel better afterwards.  Seems like I am a natural for swimming as I am always so relaxed in the water.

Roger and I had our first ever snorkeling experience when we went to Hawaii’s Hanauma Bay.  I will never forget the wonder of this first experience and seeing all the different kinds of flora and fauna in Hanauma’s corral reefs.

Hanauma Bay Snorkeling — talk about beautiful!

But I would most love to go back to the corral reefs in the Cayman Islands and go snorkeling again.   It was here that we chartered a boat to take us to Stingray City where we played with the rays!  I must admit, that was just a little bit scary.  While we were playing with the rays we also saw a barracuda in the water (a little scarier)!  And we took our first ever submarine ride in the Cayman waters!  I will never forget these experiences and how beautiful the marine life is in the reefs.

Absolute peace and tranquility…

Why can’t I do more of this?

I love Stingrays, sort of…

Stingray at Grand Cayman

Wonderland of tropical fish!

We rode in a submarine!

Even though I haven’t been snorkeling since our trip to the Grand Cayman Island in 1994, just going to the beach and swimming in the ocean is a joy I always look forward to.  These days the only chance I seem to get to do this is in August when my very special women friends get together to go to Emerald Isle to practice yoga on the beach and catch up with each other on happenings since we last got together.  The only participation requirement and dues we have to pay (you can say the dues are pretty steep) was having had breast cancer.  I have gone to 3 of these retreats now with my Pink Ribbon Yoga friends.  One year we saw sea turtles hatching and making their way down to the water.  Another year we saw a huge exotic sand castle which could have easily won any sand sculpture competition during one of our evening walks on the beach and on this same evening we were thrilled to see a full moon glimmering on the water.  Mostly we just like to get together to share stories, do relaxing yoga, and swim in the waves.  It’s nice to be able to take the time to do this each year with some of the nicest women I am lucky to know. If you are reading this and you want to learn more about this wonderful organization or  consider making a tax-deductible donation here is the place to go.  Pink Ribbon Yoga

So lucky to have such wonderful friends!

I’m thinking when I die they should throw my ashes somewhere in the ocean since that seems to be where I am happiest!  Just make sure the water is warm please — 72 degrees year around should be just fine.

Leave a comment